This is an embarrassing post, yet I will publicly shame myself to prevent any future trailing spouse from suffering the same fate.  Living in a foreign country where you do not speak the language comes with many challenges, not least of which is finding out you’ve been doing something wrong for an unbelievably long time.

You see, my husband and I had been having some laundry problems for the past few months…things just didn’t seem to be as clean as they used to be.  I tried cleaning the washing machine multiple times; vinegar, washing soda, you name it!  Still there were problems.

A quick tangent: When we moved to Germany, we had to get used to living without a dryer for the first time.  As a result, our clothes always seemed stiffer and not as soft as we’d like them to be.  I had never used liquid fabric softener before, because when you have a dryer you just use dryer sheets.

Anyway, I went to market the other day to buy liquid fabric softener.  As I stood there looking over my options on the shelf, I realized in horror that I have been using liquid fabric softener instead of laundry detergent for the past 2 years.

I have yet to fully accept this reality.  How could it have taken this long to realize the problem?  How could I have not seen “weichspüler” on the bottle?  Well, perhaps it’s because it’s nowhere to be found in plain view:

So, where is it written??  Oh yeah, there it is:

Thankfully, we now own our very own, very large bottle of “waschmittel”, and our laundry problem is solved.  How embarrassing!

If you have any stories about things you learned way too late, tell them in the comments!

 

Patty

